This is the "Reference Materials" page of the "Women's Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's Studies   Tags: gender_studies, research_guides, women, women's_studies  

Research Guide for the study of women in history and society
Last Updated: May 17, 2012 URL: http://txstate.v1.libguides.com/womens_studies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Universe

reference universe

Specialized, subject encyclopedias can help a researcher save a lot of time.  Before diving into dense books or peer-reviewed journals, introductory articles found in reference material provide an overviewe of a topic and can help a researcher get a grounding and context to a research topic.  Browsing entries in these encyclopedic works can help refine a search.

Search through reference works from Alkek Library:

Enter your search terms:

Enclose phrases in
"quotation marks"
 

Credo eRef

 

Selected Reference Materials

Subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks typically provide background essays, definitions, broad overviews of various topics, or other pertinent facts. They also provide a quick overview of authors and their works.

American Women Artists from Early Indian Times to the Present

See also Women Artists

American Women Historians, 1700-1990s

See also Women Historians

American Women in Science: A Biographical Dictionary

See also Women Scientists

American Women, Who They Are and How the Live

See also Women, Women-United States, Women Consumers

American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present

See also Women Authors, Literature-Women

Biographical Cyclopaedia of American Women

See also Women-United States-Biography, Women-Biography

Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia

See also African American Women

Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature

Book of Women's Firsts: Breakthrough Achievements of Almost 1,000 American Women

Contemporary Women Poets

See also American Poetry-WomenPoetry-Women Authors, Women Poets 

Dictionary of Women Artists

See also Women Artists

Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory

See also Feminist Literary Criticism

Encyclopedia of Women Artists of the American West

Encyclopedia of Women's History in America

See also Women-United States, Women-United States-History, Feminism-United States, Feminism-United States-History

Historical Dictionary of Feminism

Index to American Women Speakers, (1828-1978) and (1978-1985)

See also American Women Speeches & Addresses

Index to Poetry by Black American Women

See also African American Poets

International Dictionary of Women's Biography

International Encyclopedia of Women Composers

See also Women Composers

Lesbianism: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to the Literature, (1976-1991)

Modern American Women Writers

Our Bodies, Ourselves: A Book by & for Women

Nineteenth Century American Women Writers

Notable American Women, 1607-1950: A Biographical Dictionary — Reference CT3260.N57

Notable American Women, the Modern Period: A Biographical Dictionary — Reference CT3260.N573

Notable Black American Women — Reference E185.96.N68

Notable Hispanic American Women — Reference E184.S75N68

Outstanding Women Athletes: Who They Are and How They Influenced Sports in America — Reference GV697.A1 W69 1992

Planned Parenthood Woman's Health Encyclopedia — Reference RA778.P655

Poetry by American Women, 1900-1975: A Bibliography — Reference PS151.R42

Read All About Her!: Texas Women's History: A Working Bibliography — Reference HQ1438 .T4 S62

Sexual Violence: Facts and Statistics — Reference HQ72.U53B72

Spanish Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook — Reference PQ6055.S63

Statistical Record of Women Worldwide — Reference HQ1150.S73

Statistical Handbook on Women in America — Reference HQ1420.T34

WAC Stats: The Facts about Women — Reference HQ1421.W33

We Shall Be Heard: An Index to Speeches by American Women, (1978-1985) — Reference PS408.M36

Who's Who of American Women — Reference CT3260.W5

Woman of the Century

Women and the Military

See also Armed Forces-WomenWomen Soldiers, Women Air Pilots, Women and War, Women and the Military, Women in Combat, Women Sailors, Women Marines

Women and the Law — Reference KF478.W65

Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary — Reference GN20.W63

Women Artists: 1550-1950 Reference N6350.H35

Women of Achievement: Thirty-five Centuries of History Reference HQ1123.R38

Women in American History: A Bibliography — Reference HQ1410.W64

Women in Chemistry and Physics: A Biobibliographic Sourcebook — Reference QD21.W62

Women in Congress, (1917-1990) — Reference JK1013.W66

Women in Management: An Annotated Bibliography and Sourcelist — Reference HF5500.3.U54 L43

Women in Modern American Politics — Reference HQ 1236.5 .U6 C69

Women in Sociology: A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook — Reference HM22.U5.W66 1991

Women of Classical Mythology: A Biographical Dictionary — Reference BL715 .B445

Woman's Atlas of the U.S. — Reference G1201 .E1 G5

Women's Desk Reference Reference HQ1236.5 .U6 F73

Women's Studies Encyclopedia — Reference HQ1115 .W645

Women Who Ruled — Reference D107.J33

Women Writers — Reference PN471 .W565

World's Women: Trends & Statistics — Reference HQ1154 .W95

Jan Tidwell, Reference/Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Get help from Jan

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip